Northern N.Y. Community Foundation awards $673,535 in scholarships, including 19 from St. Lawrence County
Wednesday, November 3, 2010 - 5:08 pm

The Northern New York Community Foundation has awarded scholarships totaling $673,535 to 291 students, including many from St. Lawrence County.

The awards in the county include one-year freshman scholarships to 19 students.

“Despite turbulent economic times, the Foundation has held firm to its commitment to support local students. This is an important part of our heritage as a Foundation,” said Rande S. Richardson, Foundation Executive Director.

More information about the scholarship program is available at

Since 1980, the foundation has awarded over $9.6 million in scholarships.

St. Lawrence County recipients are:



Lara C. Clemens, Frosh, St. Lawrence University, Biology/Pre-Vet

Keagan M. McGovern, Frosh, Clarkson University, Mechanical Engineering

Claire Sweeney, Frosh, Clarkson University, Physical Therapy

Emily Sweeney, Frosh, Cornell University, Nutritional Sciences



Garrett Thomas, , Frosh, SUNY Canton, Air Conditioning Engineering Tech

Jacob Muller, Frosh, SUNY Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering



Raven Reese, Frosh, Alfred University, Biology/Pre-Med



Donovan Adams, Frosh, University at Albany, Anthropology

Darren Fuller, Frosh, Hamilton College, Math/Science

Brittany Schermerhorn, Frosh, SUNY Potsdam, Art Education

Lindsey Weldon, Frosh, Le Moyne College, Biology



Emily M. Dickinson, Frosh, SUNY Potsdam, Political Science



Reginald Pierce, Frosh, Rochester Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering



Holli-Jo Cota, Frosh, SUNY Canton, Liberal Arts

Alison Edwards, Frosh, University at Buffalo, Biology

Mackenzie Ferguson, Frosh, University at Buffalo, Healthcare

Zeb Fortune, Frosh, Albany College of Pharmacy, Pharmacy

Megan Morrison, Frosh, Nazareth College, Physical Therapy

Brittany Tayler, Frosh, Siena College, Pre-Med



Dailyn Harper, Frosh, SUNY Canton, Elementary Education



Crystal Myler, Frosh, Brigham Young University, Communications-Public Relations