Potsdam Bears Green named ECAC West Coach of the Year; Lewis, Roy earn Honorable Mention status
Thursday, February 23, 2012 - 10:48 pm

POTSDAM, N.Y.—SUNY Potsdam head women’s hockey coach Jay Green has been named ECAC West Coach of the Year, the conference announced Thursday. In addition, seniors Annmarie Lewis and Breanna Roy were named to the conference’s honorable mention team.

Green, who has coached the Bears since the program was resumed in 2007, guided Potsdam to a program best 11-9-3 overall record and 7-8-3 ECAC West mark during the 2011-12 campaign. The Bears surged to a 9-3-2 finish over their last 14 games to clinch their second playoff berth in four seasons as an NCAA program. Under Green, Potsdam has posted a 34-54-6 record and won more games each season than the previous one.

Lewis, who is a Bears captain, leads Potsdam with 17 goals and 14 assists for 31 points. Her scoring average of 1.41 points-per-game is seventh in the conference and 10th in the nation. She ranks fourth in the ECAC West in goals. Lewis earned two Player of the Week awards during the season. She is Potsdam’s all-time leading scorer with 44 points and 48 assists for 92 points in 95 games played.

Roy has earned honorable mention status for three consecutive seasons. She ranks second in the conference and fourth in the nation in scoring by a defenseman with eight goals and 20 assists for 28 points. She is the Bears’ second-leading scorer and ninth in total points in the ECAC West. Roy is also fifth in the conference in assists with 20 and third in power-play points with 14 (4g-10a). She falls right behind Lewis on Potsdam’s all-time scoring list with 30 goals and 54 assists for 84 points in 95 games.

The Bears look for their first ever playoff victory Saturday, Feb. 25, when they head to No. 9 Elmira to take on the Soaring Eagles. Faceoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. Bears fans can listen to the game on the Internet with the Bearcast at http://bearcast.potsdam.edu:8000/ or locally on 99 Sports Radio, 99.3 FM.

See the complete list of conference honors below:

ECAC Women's West Player of the Year

Teal Gove, Plattsburgh State