Will Republicans gain seats in St. Lawrence County, North Country?
Tuesday, November 2, 2010 - 6:21 am

By tonight, the campaign ads and phone calls will be a thing of the past, and St. Lawrence County elections officials will be tallying votes to find out whether Republicans take over a number of prominent federal, state and county positions.

The St. Lawrence County Legislature, now enjoying a 10-5 advantage for the Democrats, could well swing the other way because no Democrats are running to replace Laura J. Perry and Tedra Cobb in districts 7 and 8.

And in Potsdam’s district 10, a Republican may win if the two other candidates split the Democratic vote. For details, view story at northcountrynow.com/news/democrat-controlled-county-legislature-could-be-dominated-republicans-following-tuesday-electio.

Meanwhile, many are watching to see whether Republicans Matt Doheny of Watertown and Patty Ritchie of Heuvelton successfully unseat incumbent Democrats Bill Owens of Plattsburgh for the 23rd Congressional seat and Darrel J. Aubertine of Cape Vincent for the 48th state Senate seat.

For state Assembly, Incumbent Democrat Addie J. Russell of Theresa is facing Republican David W. Forsythe of Lisbon for the 118th District, which includes the northern half of St. Lawrence and Jefferson counties, including Canton and Potsdam.

In the 122nd Assembly district, Republican Ken Blackenbush of Black River is running against Democrat Brian McGrath of Martinsburg to replace Republican Deidre Scozzafava. The district covers the southern half of St. Lawrence and Jefferson counties, including Parishville, Pierrepont, Russell, Gouverneur, Madrid, Norfolk and Stockholm. Scozzafava has endorsed McGrath.

Several local contests will also be decided in Canton, Hopkinton and Stockholm

Here is a rundown of the contested county and local races:

County Races

At the county level, a number of new faces are guaranteed to be elected as several legislators have chosen not to run again this year.

Also, four people are running for two county coroner positions – Democrats James M. Sienkiewycz and Brett D. Grandaw and Republicans Matthew R. Denner and Joseph E. White.

Republican Kevin Felt is running without any opposition even though David Button’s name will appear on the Conservative party line. Button dropped out of the race after losing the GOP primary.

Contested county legislator races in the Greater Canton-Potsdam area include:

• District 7, Republican Scott Sutherland vs. Conservative Lucien N. Plante, to replace Democrat Laura J. Perry, who chose not to run again.

• District 8, Republican Kevin Acres and Conservative Russ Finley to replace Democrat Tedra L. Cobb, who chose not to run again; Matthew J. Flynn will also appear on the Independent party line, but he recently dropped out of the race after losing the GOP primary.

• District 9, Democrat Stephen Putman vs. Republican John Clark to replace Democrat Peter FitzRandolph.

• District 10, Democrat Jim A. Bunstone, Republican Karl Ortmeyer and independent incumbent J. Patrick Turbett, who failed to gain the Democratic nod again this year due to filing technicalities.

• District 11, Democrat Gavin Regan and Republican Daniel F. Parker, for the seat now held by Democrat Charles E. House Jr.

Local Races

A number of local contests will also be decided by voters. The contested races include:

• Village of Canton, Democrat Greg Storie and Republican Carol Sheesley for a village justice post; and Republicans David Curry and Mary Ann Ashley and Democrat Jesse Coburn for two village trustee seats.

• Town of Canton, Republican Thomas B. Wheeler and Democrat Christopher Curley for town justice, and Republican Michael K. Morgan and Democrat James Smith for a one-year unexpired town council seat.

• Town of Hopkinton, David Beekman, Joachim Van Ells and Stephen J. Bory for town justice.

• Town of Stockholm, Democrat Nancy Lynch vs. Republican Kenneth W. Everhart for a one-year town council seat.