Four Saints earn all-conference accolades in field hockey
Friday, November 5, 2010 - 10:00 pm

Four members of the St. Lawrence University field hockey team have been awarded Liberty League All-Conference honors for their play during the 2010 season.

Senior captains Brooke Maloney and Michelle Laframboise were voted to the league's Second Team, while juniors Julia Croyle and Erika Swits were given Honorable Mention status.

Maloney was selected to an All-Conference team for the third straight year after leading the Saints' offense with 18 points on four goals and 10 assists. The Greenwich, CT native was third in the Liberty League in helpers after starting in all 16 games at forward.

Laframboise was also a repeat All-Conference honoree, as she earned Honorable Mention status in 2009. The New Haven, VT native anchored the team's midfield in her senior campaign, finishing with a pair of goals and one assist after starting in all 16 contests. Both of Laframboise's goals were the game-winners, coming against Hartwick and Rensselaer.

Croyle had a breakout season for St. Lawrence along the back line, as she was outstanding defensively. The Wenham, MA native finished third in the league in defensive saves after starting every game for the Saints. She was the Liberty League's Defensive Player of the Week on September 6 and is a first time All-Conference selection.

Finally, Swits returned to the Saints in 2010 after she took her sophomore year off. The Rochester, NY native proved to be a valuable addition, as she was third in scoring with 12 points on five goals and two assists. Swits, who had the game-winning goal against Utica College, is also a first time Liberty League All-conference honoree.

Nationally-ranked Skidmore College swept the league's major award categories, including Christine Kemp, who won the Offensive Player of the Year award for the third time. Thoroughbred goalkeeper Liz Cantinella won Defensive Player of the Year, while Kelly Blackhurst was selected the Rookie of the Year. Finally, Beth Hallenbeck and her staff were named the Coaching Staff of the Year after leading Skidmore to the 2010 regular season title.