Bear's Pierce named to all-conference team
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 12:08 am

POTSDAM, N.Y.- SUNY Potsdam junior Curtis Pierce was named to the 2011-12 All-SUNYAC Men’s Basketball third team, the league announced Monday, Feb. 27.

Pierce, a forward from Brooklyn, N.Y., had a solid all-around campaign. He finished ninth in the conference in scoring (13.9 per game), third in rebounding (8.3), sixth in steals (1.6) and fourth in minutes played (33.6). He led the Bears in all those categories as well as three point percentage, knocking down 36 percent from behind the arc.

Pierce collected seven double-doubles and twice scored a season-high 22 points. He did so against Southern Vermont College on Nov. 19, and against Fredonia St. on Feb. 3. The junior scored in double figures in 20 of 23 games this season despite playing through knee and foot injuries which forced him to miss two contests. Pierce also grabbed a career-high 17 rebounds in a Jan. 27 defeat against Cortland and scored his 1,000th career point on a jumper at Geneseo on Feb. 17.

Pierce was also selected to the third team All-Conference last season.

See below for the complete 2011-12 All-SUNYAC Men’s Basketball teams and honorees.

First team: Chad Burridge, Oswego Kyheem Green, Brockport Jake Simmons, Buffalo State Hayden Ward, Oswego Jesse Winter, Cortland

Second team: Julius Bryant, Fredonia Matt Devine, New Paltz Justin Mitchell, Buffalo State Sean Michele, Oswego Ryan Riefenhauser, Geneseo

Third team: Curtis Pierce, Potsdam Brian Manning, Cortland Connor Fedge, Geneseo Gerald Williams, Brockport Harris Wichard, New Paltz

2011-2012 Player of the Year: Chad Burridge, Oswego

2011-2012 Rookie of the Year: Frankie Kelly, Oneonta

Coach of the Year: Jason Leone, Oswego