Canton, Potsdam, Ogdensburg, Edwards-Knox, Brasher Falls, Gouverneur educators honored as NYS Master Teachers
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 4:51 pm

Teachers in Canton, Potsdam, Ogdensburg, Edwards-Knox, Brasher Falls and Gouverneur schools have been named to the state Master Teachers program, promoting STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education in the state.

The state Education Department announced that 22 teachers in St. Lawrence County have been named to the program.

Master Teachers are dedicated professionals who specialize in STEM courses, teaching science, technology, computer science, robotics, coding, engineering, and math courses across grades K-12 including Advanced Placement, honors, Regents and International Baccalaureate levels.

The teachers are:

• Canton Central School District, Kristen Ames, Meaghan Bartell, Kristen Betrus, Margaret Clemens, Robert Dixon, Sandra Drechsel, Alicia Wentworth and Laurey Rosser

• Potsdam Central School District, James Allott, Joshua Brosell, Lisa Dunkelberg and Jodie Tiernan

• Ogdensburg City School District, Amber Henry, Juliette Ross, Matthew Shaver and Cristy Smith

• Edwards-Knox Central School District, Tomorrah Averill, Kelly Cusano and Shane Pickering

• Brasher Falls Central School District, Darlene Bissonette

• Gouverneur Central School District, Kassandra Robillard and Samuel Sochia.

All Master Teachers are active beyond their classrooms, serving as curriculum department leaders or on district and state-level committees, and as sponsors of science “Olympiad” competitions, school gardens, robotics teams, coding clubs, community service organizations and more.

Throughout their four-year participation in the program, Master Teachers receive a $15,000 stipend annually, engage in peer mentoring and content-oriented professional development, work with teaching students and early career teachers to foster the next generation of STEM teachers, and attend regional meetings and participate in and lead professional development sessions.

“By expanding this program we are giving more talented professionals in STEM education the opportunity to develop their careers and help lay the foundation for a world-class workforce,” said Gov. Andrew Cuomo.

Also in St. Lawrence County are three Master Teachers Emeritus, those who successfully complete four years as NYS Master Teachers.

They are Majella LaRock, Brasher Falls Central School District, and Troy Creurer and Michelle Robinson, Madrid-Waddington School District.

Emeriti continue as participants in the NYS Master Teacher network, contributing to STEM educational initiatives.