Ogdensburg school board approves several teacher retirements
Friday, December 22, 2017 - 8:56 am


OGDENSBURG -- The retirements of several long-time teachers were approved by the Ogdensburg City School District Board of Education at Monday’s meeting.

Elementary teachers Kasey Smith and M. Jennifer Dashnaw will be retiring effective June 30, 2018, at which time both teachers will have been employed by the district for 31 years.

Elementary special education teacher Janet Cline will also retire effective June 30, 2018 and will have been employed by the district for 29 years.

The retirement of secondary social studies teacher Julie Johnson was approved effective June 30, 2019. Johnson will have been employed by the district for 33 years.

District Superintendent Timothy Vernsey offered congratulations to the retirees at the close of the meeting and stated that the district plans to advertise the upcoming job openings once school resumes after the holiday break.

Vernsey also pointed out that the district expects a significant number of retirements over the next several years.