Math professors, student from Potsdam attend Association of Mathematics Teachers conference
Wednesday, December 27, 2017 - 11:51 am

POTSDAM -- SUNY Potsdam was represented at this year's Association of Mathematics Teachers of New York State Conference. Among the 600 attendees were two faculty members, two students and a number of alumni from the school.

Associate math professor Blair Madore and Professor of secondary education professor Peter Brouwer both attended the AMTNYS Conference, along with two secondary math education students, Odessa Hoyt and Sara Janus.

Hoyt and Janus were able to attend a number of professional development sessions alongside other college students, K-12 teachers and college faculty members. In particular, they both took part in a session led by AMTNYS President Michael Siuta on how to prepare for interviews. The students were also presented with new graphing calculators from Texas Instruments.

Madore presented a session titled "One of These Things is Not Like the Other," about attributes and geometry for teachers in grades pre-k through grade 6. The presentation was originally developed with math department chair Victoria Klawitter and Becky Duprey, a clinical faculty member in the Department of Childhood Education.

The faculty members were able to connect with a number of alumni at the conference. Jillian Folino '08 teaches at Indian River High School in Philadelphia, N.Y., and presented a session on her math club, which got its start thanks in part to support from SUNY Potsdam's math department and a grant from the association's Dolciani Fund. Kim Loucks and his wife, Carolyn Hirst-Loucks, of Teaching and Learning Connected, presented an interactive session, "Seriously Fun Mathematics with Dice." Will Hardin, now a math teacher at Granville Junior/Senior High School, gave two technology-related presentations, "Going Google in a High School Math Classroom," and "Using Desmos Activities to Engage High School Students."

In addition, Madore and Brouwer also met with SUNY Potsdam graduates Chelsea Connors, Vivian Fischer Lisi, Maggie Flynn Loney, Alicia Salmon, Jodie Munger Tiernan and Jeffrey White.