Lake Placid to host 2012, 2013 NCAA Division III national hockey championships
Sunday, July 18, 2010 - 5:24 pm

LAKE PLACID – The NCAA Division III men’s ice hockey committee recently announced that Lake Placid, will host both the 2012 and 2013 Division III men’s ice hockey national championships. The New York State Olympic Regional Development Authority (ORDA) and SUNY Plattsburgh are the co-hosts of the two tournaments.

This year, the nation’s top four teams will vie for the national crown at Ridder Arena on the campus of the University of Minnesota before returning to the famed 1980 Herb Brooks Olympic arena, which played host to the last three national championships, teaming with SUNY Plattsburgh to co-host the past two.

The championship weekends in Lake Placid will feature two semi-final games, on the first day, followed by the championship match-up on the second day.