DEC hosting session at Hermon-DeKalb school for input on St. Lawrence Rock Ridge Unit Management Plan
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 5:35 pm

DEKALB JUNCTION -- The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is asking the public for input on the draft St. Lawrence Rock Ridge Unit Management Plan (UMP) at a public meeting at Hermon-DeKalb school March 8, from 6-8 p.m.

The 21,542-acre St. Lawrence Rock Ridge planning unit consists of 15 state forests, and nine (9) detached forest preserve parcels and is in a broad area of southwestern St. Lawrence County and northeastern Lewis County.

“One purpose of this meeting is to provide information to attendees about the Unit, discuss its history and use, current ecology and current public uses such as forest management practices and recreational uses. We are also seeking the public’s input in helping to establish short and long-range goals and objectives for management of these lands,” said Judy Drabicki, Region 6 Director.

The detached Forest Preserve parcels are in the town of DeKalb, Depeyster, Gouverneur, and Pitcairn in St. Lawrence County and the town of Diana in Lewis County.

The State Forests included are: Beaver Creek, Bonner Lake, California Road, Cold Spring Brook, Fire-Fall, Greenwood Creek, Hickory Lake, Lonesome Bay, Pleasant Lake, South Hammond, Stammer Creek, Toothaker Creek, Trout Lake, Wolf Lake, and Yellow Lake.

The state forests are in the towns of Depeyster, Edwards, Fowler, Gouverneur, Hammond, Hermon, Macomb, Pitcairn, and Rossie.

DEC will accept public input on the draft UMP at the meeting on March 8, from 6-8 p.m., at the Hermon-Dekalb Central High School cafeteria, 709 E De Kalb Rd.

In addition, public comments can be submitted by mail or email to Tony Sparacino, forester, NYS DEC, 6739 US Highway 11, Potsdam, NY, 13676, or by email at [email protected].

All comments must be received by April 23.

DEC will review these comments as it finalizes the St. Lawrence Rock Ridge draft UMP.

For more information, visit or